About Our Parish

The Norwich Orthodox Community was founded in the 1890’s by Greek immigrants coming to this country with high hopes and dreams of health, wealth and happiness. At this time in history, the Norwich area was a large textile manufacturing area of the New England states.  Most of our new Greek citizens were employed by them.

As the Greek Community grew, many of these citizens decided to start their own businesses, such as restaurants, candy kitchens, bakeries and soda shops.

As the Greek community grew, there came a need to have a church established.  The first Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox church was housed in the former Buckingham Chapel at 140 Boswell Avenue in Norwich. As the years went by and the community outgrew the Boswell Avenue location, the parishioners  established a building committee and began a fund raising campaign to purchase land and start construction on their new church to be located at 247 Washington Street a few miles away from the Boswell Avenue church.

All the hard work by the parishioners and volunteers paid off and, on April 7, 1974, we were blessed to have Archbishop Iakovos dedicate and open the doors of  the church to a new generation of worshippers.

Event Schedule

 

Summer Service Hours

Orthros        8:15 am

Divine Liturgy 9:30 am

 

Saturday, August 3

Great Vespers 7 pm

Sunday, August 4

Orthros and Divine Liturgy 8:15 am

Monday, August 5

Great Vespers 7 pm

Tuesday, August 6, Transfiguration of Our Lord

Orthros and Divine Liturgy, 8:15 am

Wednesday, August 7

Paraklesis, 7 pm

Thursday, August 8

Paraklesis, 7 pm

Friday, August 9

Paraklesis, 7 pm

Sunday, August 11

Orthros and Divine Liturgy, 8:15 am

Monday, August 12

Paraklesis 7 pm

Tuesday, August 13

Paraklesis 7 pm

Wednesday, August 14

Great Vespers 7 pm

Thursday, August 15 Dormition of the Theotokos

Orthros and Divine Liturgy 8:15 am

Sunday, August 18

Orthros and Divine Liturgy 8:15 am

Sunday, August 25

Orthros and Divine Liturgy 8:15 am

 

Thursday, September 5

Festival 11 am - 9 pm

Friday, September 6

Vespers, 6 pm

Festival 11 am - 9 pm

Church Tours at 3 pm and 5 pm

Saturday, September 7

Great Vespers, 6 pm

Festival 11 am - 9 pm

Church Tours at 1 pm, 3 pm, 5 pm

Sunday, September 8, Nativity of the Theotokos

Orthros, 8:15 am 

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Festival 12 pm to 4 pm (Or til we run out of food)

Friday, September 13

Great Vespers, 6 pm

Saturday, September 14, The Holy Cross (Return to Standard Hours)

Orthros, 8:45 am

Divine Liturgy, 10 am

Sunday, September 15

Orthros, 8:45 am

Divine Liturgy, 10 am

Sunday, September 22 (First Day of Sunday School)

Orthros, 8:45 am

Sunday School, 9:20 am

Divine Liturgy, 10 am

Monday, September 23, Conception of St. John the Baptist

Orthros, 8:45 am

Divine Liturgy, 10 am

Sunday, September 29

Orthros, 8:45 am

Sunday School, 9:20 am

Divine Liturgy, 10 am